Double Fatality Sunday Morning in Richmond County: The Richmond County Coroner's Office is investigating the deaths of two people early this morning following a single vehicle accident on Mike Padgett Highway at…

Augusta’s Morning News with John Patrick & Mary Liz Nolan

Weekdays 5:30AM-8:45AM

INGLEWOOD, CALIFORNIA - JANUARY 09: Stetson Bennett #13 of the Georgia Bulldogs celebrates after defeating the TCU Horned Frogs in the College Football Playoff National Championship game at SoFi Stadium on January 09, 2023 in Inglewood, California. Georgia defeated TCU 65-7. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Stetson Bennett Wins Manning Award

Stetson Bennett will need to make room for another award after leading the Georgia Bulldogs to their 2nd straight national championship. He was named the winner of the Manning Award on Monday. According the article, the award goes to the nation’s top quarterback as judged by the Sugar Bowl and considers bowl performances.

According to, Archie Manning made the announcement.

“We started the Manning Award 19 years ago as a way to recognize the country’s top quarterback for the full season, including the postseason,” Archie Manning said. “I’m not sure we’ve ever had an honoree who showcased his ability and proved his worth all the way through the postseason like Stetson did this year. We’re thrilled to recognize him as this year’s Manning Award winner. On behalf of the entire Manning family, I want to again thank the Sugar Bowl Committee for its long-standing support of the Manning Award. The Bowl’s role in making this possible each year is greatly appreciated.”

In Pictures: Georgia Bulldogs Championship Celebration